Tags

, , , ,

There is one type of food I have been craving for quite some time now: Mexican food–more specifically burritos and tacos. Ireland is pretty great about having a variety of cultural foods to choose from, but I could NOT seem to find any Mexican restaurants.

This week, thankfully, I was in luck.

Sierra, Faith, and I had just completed our long day of exploring Dublin, and we were pretty near starving at this point. Finding a restaurant to suit our needs was mildly difficult, however, because one of us is allergic to gluten, and the other is a vegetarian. Alas, as we neared the end of Grafton Street, a beacon of hope burned on a side street:

20141129_172848Of course, my heart was beating at twice its normal speed and saliva was gathering in my mouth already, but I just KNEW that this was exactly the food I–I mean we–needed. Most likely Sierra and Faith could see the child-on-Christmas-morning joy on my face, and they agreed that nachos sounded good to them (thank you for indulging my craziness, friends). Then we saw there was a student deal, so it was settled.

Inside was nothing special, but lime green seats and spray-painted art lined the walls with large text. At the very back of the small room lay the the kitchen, and, praise the lord, my burrito. Also, props to the random guy photo-bombing my picture with a smile.

20141129_172831

Both the girls grabbed Big Ass Nachos, while I opted for a chicken burrito with all the trimmings. Burn Salsa is delicious, contains a savory twang, and is not too hot at all. I might go and try the “Blow-Your-Head-Off” Salsa next time, but I was too scared to ruin my much desired burrito this time.

Although there was not many available seating inside for more than two people at a time, we enjoyed sitting outside on the small porch with the heat lamps warming us up. Sierra is pretty intent on her vegetarian Big Ass Nachos.

20141129_17140020141129_171406

I DEVOURED my burrito, and it was only 5.50 euro for the whole thing and a drink! Great times.

20141129_171351

If you’re in Ireland and dying for your fix of Mexican food, then make way for Burritos & Blues at 2 Wexford St Dublin 2. A picture of their menu has been uploaded below, and you can check out their Facebook and website.

20141129_172808